Rolls-Royce Group plc: Board appointment

Wednesday, 25 July 2007

Rolls-Royce announced today the appointment of Helen Alexander CBE, as a non-executive director with effect from 1 September 2007.

Announcing the appointment, Simon Robertson, Chairman of Rolls-Royce, said: “Helen has extensive knowledge of international business and finance which will be particularly valuable to Rolls-Royce. We are delighted that she will be joining the Board as a non-executive director.”

Helen Alexander is currently the Chief Executive of the Economist Group and a non-executive director of Centrica plc.

There are no other details, which require disclosure under paragraph 9.6.13 (2) to (6) of the Listing Rules.

  1. Helen Alexander joined The Economist Group in 1984. She was Managing Director of The Economist Intelligence Unit from 1993 until the end of 1996 and was appointed Chief Executive of The Economist Group in January 1997. She was awarded a CBE for services to publishing in 2004. She is also a non-executive director of Centrica plc, a former non-executive director of Northern Foods PLC and BT PLC, a governor of St Paul's Girls' School, an Honorary Fellow of Hertford College, Oxford and a Trustee of the Tate. She has an MBA from INSEAD.
  2. The current membership of the Rolls-Royce board is:
    Simon Robertson (Chairman)
    Sir John Rose (Chief Executive)
    Peter Byrom (Non-executive director, Senior Independent Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee)
    John Cheffins (Chief Operating Officer)
    Iain Conn (Non-executive director)
    Professor Peter Gregson (Non-executive director)
    James Guyette (President and Chief Executive Officer of Rolls-Royce North America Inc.)
    John Rishton (Non-executive director)
    Andrew Shilston (Finance Director)
    Colin Smith (Director – Engineering and Technology)
    Ian Strachan (Non-executive director) and
    Carl Symon (Non-executive director and Chairman of the Remuneration Committee).
  3. Rolls-Royce also formed a new International Advisory Board (IAB) in 2007 to advise the Group on emerging political, business and economic trends. Membership of the IAB is:
    Lord Powell of Bayswater (Chairman) - UK
    Bernard Duc - France
    Sir Rod Eddington - Australia
    Boris Fedorov - Russia
    Dr Fan Gang - China
    Carla Hills - USA
    General Sir Mike Jackson - UK
    Mustafa Koc - Turkey
    Taizo Nishimuro - Japan
    Lubna Olayan - Middle East
    Eduardo Serra - Spain
    Ratan Tata - India
    Matthias Wissmann - Germany
    Lee Hsien Yang - Singapore
    Ernesto Zedillo - Mexico
  4. Further information about the IAB members can be found on page 42 of the Annual Report 2006.

Need more information?